9 FAM 41.51 Exhibit I TREATIES CONTAINING TRADER AND REALTY INVESTOR PROVISIONS IN EFFECT BETWEEN THE UNITED STATES AND OTHER COUNTRIES

(TL:VISA-611; 03-31-2004)

	(12:110)(011, 000)	2001)
COUNTRY	CLASSIFICATION	ENTERED INTO FORCE
Albania	E-2	1/04/1998
Argentina	E-1	12/20/1854
Argentina	E-2	12/20/1854
Armenia	E-2	3/29/1996
Australia	E-1	12/16/1991
Australia	E-2	12/27/1991
Austria	E-1	5/27/1931
Austria	E-2	5/27/1931
Azerbaijan	E-2	08/02/01
Bahrain	E-2	05/30/01
Bangladesh	E-2	7/25/1989
Belgium	E-1	10/3/1963
Belgium	E-2	10/3/1963
Bolivia	E-1	11/9/1862
Bolivia	E-2	06/06/2001
Bosnia & Herzegovina	E-1	11/15/82
Bosnia & Herzegovina	E-2	11/15/82
Brunei	E-1	7/11/1853
Bulgaria	E-2	6/2/1954
Cameroon	E-2	4/6/1989
Canada	E-1	1/1/93
Canada	E-2	1/1/93
China (Taiwan) 1	E-1	11/30/1948
China (Taiwan) ¹	E-2	11/30/1948
Colombia	E-1	6/10/1948
Colombia	E-2	6/10/1948
Congo (Brazzaville)	E-2	8/13/1994
Congo (Kinshasa)	E-2	7/28/1989
Costa Rica	E-1	5/26/1852
Costa Rica	E-2	5/26/1852
Croatia11	E-1	11/15/82
Croatia11	E-2	11/15/82
Czech Republic 2	E-2	1/1/1993
Denmark ³	E-1	7/30/1961
Ecuador	E-2	5/11/1997
Egypt	E-2	6/27/1992
Estonia	E-1	5/22/1926
Estonia	E-2	2/16/1997
Ethiopia	E-1	10/8/1953
Ethiopia	E-2	10/8/1953
Finland	E-1	8/10/1934
Finland	E-2	12/1/1992
France ⁴	E-1	12/21/1960
France 4	E-2	12/21/1960

Georgia	E-2	8/17/1997
Germany	E-1	7/14/1956
Germany	E-2	7/14/1956
•		
Greece	E-1	10/13/1954
Grenada	E-2	3/3/1989
Honduras	E-1	7/19/1928
Honduras	E-2	7/19/1928
Iran	E-1	6/16/1957
Iran	E-2	6/16/1957
Ireland	E-1	9/14/1950
Ireland	E-2	11/18/1992
	E-1	
Israel		4/3/1954
Italy	E-1	7/26/1949
Italy	E-2	7/26/1949
Jamaica	E-2	3/7/1997
Japan ⁵	E-1	10/30/1953
Japan		
Japan ⁵	E-2	10/30/1953
Jordan	E-1	December 17, 2001
Jordan	E-2	December 17, 2001
Kazakhstan	E-2	1/12/1994
Korea (South)	E-1	11/7/1957
Korea (South)	E-2	11/7/1957
Kyrgyzstan	E-2	1/12/1994
Latvia	E-1	7/25/1928
	E-2	12/26/1996
Latvia		
Liberia	E-1	11/21/1939
Liberia	E-2	11/21/1939
Lithuania	E-2	November 22, 2001
Luxembourg	E-1	3/28/1963
<u> </u>		
Luxembourg	E-2	3/28/1963
Macedonia	E-1	11/15/82
Macedonia	E-2	11/15/82
Mexico	E-1	1/1/1994
	E-2	1/1/1994
Mexico		
Moldova	E-2	11/25/1994
Mongolia	E-2	1/1/1997
Morocco	E-2	5/29/1991
Netherlands ⁶	E-1	12/5/1957
Netherlands		
Netherlands ⁶	E-2	12/5/1957
Norway ⁷	E-1	01/18/28
Norway ⁷	E-2	01/18/28
Oman	E-1	6/11/1960
Oman	E-2	6/11/1960
Pakistan	E-1	2/12/1961
Pakistan	E-2	2/12/1961
Panama	E-2	5/30/1991
Paraguay	E-1	3/7/1860
Paraguay	E-2	3/7/1860
Philippines	E-1	9/6/1955
Philippines	E-2	9/6/1955
Poland	E-2	8/6/1994
Romania	E-2	1/15/1994
Senegal	E-2	10/25/1990
Slovak Rep ²	E-2	1/1/1993
Slovenia11	E-1	11/15/82
Slovenia11	E-2	11/15/82
	E-1	
Spain ⁸	⊏- I	4/14/1903

Spain 8 Sri Lanka Suriname 9 Suriname 9 Sweden Sweden Switzerland Switzerland Thailand Thailand Togo Togo Trinidad & Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom 10 United Kingdom 10 United Kingdom 10	E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1 E-2 E-1	4/14/1903 5/1/1993 2/10/1963 2/10/1963 2/20/1992 2/20/1992 11/8/1855 11/8/1855 6/8/1968 6/8/1967 2/5/1967 12/26/1996 2/7/1993 2/15/1933 5/18/1990 11/16/1996 7/03/1815
United Kingdom ¹⁰ Yugoslavia ¹¹ Yugoslavia ¹¹	- •	

FOOTNOTES

- China (Taiwan). Pursuant to Section 6 of the Taiwan Relations Act, Public Law 96-8, 93 Stat, 14, and Executive Order 12143, 44 F.R. 37191, this agreement, which was concluded with the Taiwan authorities prior to January 1, 1979, is administered on a nongovernmental basis by the American Institute in Taiwan, a nonprofit District of Columbia corporation, and constitutes neither recognition of the Taiwan authorities nor the continuation of any official relationship with Taiwan.
- ² Czech Republic and Slovak Republic. The Treaty with the Czech and Slovak Federal Republics entered into force on December 19, 1992; it entered into force for the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic as separate states on January 1, 1993.
- ³ Denmark. The Convention of 1826 does not apply to the Faroe Islands of Greenland. The Treaty, which entered into force on July 30, 1961, does not apply to Greenland.
- ⁴ France. The Treaty, which entered into force on December 21, 1960, applies to the departments of Martinique, Guadeloupe, French Guiana and Reunion.
- ⁵ Japan. The Treaty, which entered into force on October 30, 1953, was made applicable to the Bonin Islands on June 26, 1968, and to the Ryukyu Islands on May 15, 1972.
- ⁶ Netherlands. The Treaty, which entered into force on December 5, 1957, is applicable to Aruba and Netherlands Antilles.
- ⁷ Norway. The Treaty, which entered into force on September 13, 1932, does not apply to Svalbard (Spitzbergen and certain lesser islands).

- ⁸ Spain. The Treaty, which entered into force on April 14, 1903, is applicable to all territories.
- ⁹ Suriname. The Treaty with the Netherlands, which entered into force December 5, 1957, was made applicable to Suriname on February 10, 1963.
- United Kingdom. The Convention, which entered into force on July 3, 1815, applies only to British territory in Europe (the British Isles (except the Republic of Ireland), the Channel Islands and Gibraltar) and to "inhabitants" of such territory. This term, as used in the Convention, means "one who resides actually and permanently in a given place, and has his domicile there." Also, in order to qualify for treaty trader or treaty investor status under this treaty, the alien must be a national of the United Kingdom. Individuals having the nationality of members of the Commonwealth other than the United Kingdom do not qualify for treaty trader or treaty investor status under this treaty.
- Yugoslavia. The U.S. view is that the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY) has dissolved. The successors that formerly made up the SFRY—Bosnia, Herzegovina, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Slovenia, *Serbia and Montenegro (formally the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia)* continue to be bound by the treaty in force with the SFRY at the time of dissolution.