Child Carein Louisiana:
A Short Report on Subsidies, Affordability and Supply

This report summarizes recent child care information for the state of Louisiana. The first section
provides new information on child care subsidies, based on eligibility estimates generated by the
Urban Institute and state administrative data reported to the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services (HHS). The second two parts, on affordability and supply, draw on state and
local data collected by the Urban Institute during the summer of 1999 under contract with HHS.
A companion document to the national report entitled “Access to Child Care for Low-Income
Working Families,” the Louisianareport is one in a series of nine state reports.

|. Child Care Subsidies

Figure 1. Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Eligibility and Receipt in Louisiana

Children by Family Type (Aver age Monthly Estimates)
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Eligible for CCDF Subsidies
if Limits at Federal Max 220,000

Eligible for CCDF Subsidies
under State Limits 220,000

Receiving CCDF Subsidies 35,000

Sources: Urban Institute simulations and state administrative data reported to the Child Care Bureau.

O 451,000 children under age 13 (or under age 18 if disabled) live in families where the family
head (and spouse if present) isworking or isin an education or training program, as shown in
Figure 1. Children acrossal family income levels are included in this estimate. Most of
these children (428,000) are under age 13 and living with working parents.*

a 220,000 of these children, and 143,000 families, are estimated to meet the Louisiana's
income guidelines for child care assistance under the Child Care and Development Fund
(CCDF) October 1997 state plan. Louisiana sincome eligibility limit is equal to the
maximum level allowed under Federal law, 85 percent of State Median Income.

To be eligible under Louisiana s October 1997 state plan, afamily of 3 had to have
income at or below $29,580.

A large mgjority of eligible children (87 percent) live in families with annual income
below 200 percent of the Federal poverty threshold and 45 percent are living in poverty.
About 11 percent live in families that report receiving cash welfare.

Most (198,000) €eligible children are under age 13 with working parents; the remaining
children have parents in education/training programs or are disabled youth under 18.
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o 35,000 children in Louisiana received child care subsidies funded by CCDF in an average
month in 1998. This estimate suggests that 16 percent of the eligible population under both
state limits and the Federal maximum limits were served with CCDF funds.®

o The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) isthe major source of Federal funding
allocated to states to subsidize the child care expenses of low- and moderate-income families
so they can work, or attend education or training programs. Using CCDF dollars along with
state funds, Louisiana has designed its own child care program within broad parameters
specified under federal law. CCDF-funded subsidies, and the number of children that the
state reported were served with these subsidies, are highlighted in this report because CCDF
isaprimary source of funding in most states. Also, CCDF administrative data is the most
comparable source of child care data across states. 1t should be noted, however, that
Louisiana, like many other states, also uses other funding sources to provide child care
subsidies.

o Nowaiting list for government subsidies has been maintained since 1996-97. All families
who currently apply receive subsidies. However, state staff believe that there are eligible
families that do not apply for subsidies.*

I1. Affordability®

o Pricesfor child care vary considerably, by such factors as geographic area, type of provider
and age of child. Figure 2 shows the average monthly prices for child care in New Orleans,
Louisiana. Given that these are average prices, it is clear that many families pay more or less
than this amount.

a Centersin New Orleans, Louisiana charge an average of $303 per month for preschool care
and $325 per month for infant care, as shown in Figure 2. This means that a family with
$15,000 in income and one preschool child in an average-priced center would spend close to
one-quarter (24 percent) of its total monthly income on child care expenses. Average-priced
infant care would represent a dightly higher share (26 percent) of monthly income for a
family earning $15,000.

Accredited care costs even more, $390 per month for a preschooler in center-based care,
or about 31 percent of family income for families with $15,000 in income.” Families
with an infant in an accredited center would pay $412, or about 33 percent of family
income for families earning $15,000.

a Family child care homesin New Orleans, Louisiana charge an average of $217 for both
preschool-age children and infants. This means that a family with $15,000 in income and one
child in an average-priced family child care home would spend 17 percent of its monthly
income on care for either a preschool-age child or for an infant.

o Familieswho receive child care subsidies usually pay much smaller monthly co-payments
rather than the full market rate. Such co-payments are established under adliding fee
schedule, and are based on family size, income and the cost of care. The officia feein
Louisiana ranges from 10 to 70 percent of the cost of care up to certain state-set maximum
rates.

" Providers are accredited by national organizations based on criteria designed to measure quality. Accreditation is one
indication that a provider has a demonstrated commitment to providing quality care.
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For example, afamily with $15,000 in income and one preschooler or infant in an
average-priced center in Louisiana would be charged a monthly co-payment of $29, or
2.3 percent of monthly income, as shown in Figure 2.

Louisiana does not require families with monthly incomes at or below $1,100 to make
Co-payments.

State policy does not prevent providers from charging parents additional amounts, above the
co-payment, if the providers rates exceed the state reimbursement level. For example, the
maximum CCDF rate for preschool center carein New Orleans Louisianais $286 per month®,
which is $17 less than the $303 average price shown in Figure 2. If the $17 differential is
paid by the family, the total cost to the family is $46 per month, more than the official co-
payment of $29 shown in Figure 2. If the feeis not charged to the family, the provider loses
$17 per month for providing service to a subsidized child. The differential could be much
larger than $17 for some child care centers, including accredited centers and other centers
with higher than average rates.

Figure 2. Child Care Prices and Co-Paymentsfor a Hypothetical New Orleans, L ouisiana
Family of Three Earning $15,000 with One Child in Care

WITHOUT SUBSIDY WITH SUBSIDY
Average % of Income Monthly Co- % of
Monthly (Family Income  Pgyments* Income**
Rates (Full of $15,000 (If receive (Family Income of
Time Care) Annually) subsidy) $15,000 Annually)
INFANT (1 year)
Center-based $325 26.0% $29 2.3%
Accredited center-based $412 32.9% $29 2.3%
Family child care home $217 17.3% $22 1.7%
PRESCHOOLER (4 years)
Center-based $303 24.3% $29 2.3%
Accredited center-based $390 31.2% $29 2.3%
Family child care home $217 17.3% $22 1.7%

*  State policy does not prevent providers from charging parents additional amounts, above the co-payment, if
the providers' rates exceed the state reimbursement level. Figuresin this table represent the minimum co-
payment.

**  Co-paymentsin Louisiana are based on a percentage of the cost of care, which was assumed equal to average
monthly prices (shown in column 1) or maximum CCDF reimbursement rates, whichever was lower.

Source:  Data collected by the Urban Institute from the Agenda for Children-Child Care Resources, a child care

resource and referral agency serving the areain and around New Orleans, summer 1999.

. Gapsin Child Care Supply’

Q
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Not all providersin Louisiana accept children who receive subsidies. Of the providers
registered with the Agenda for Children-Child Care Resources, which serves 11 of the 64
parishes in the state, 57 percent of centers and 45 percent of family child care homes accept
subsidies. Only 50 percent of accredited centers serve subsidized children.



Providers may be unwilling to accept subsidized children, or may limit their enrollment,
when the state reimbursement rates are lower than their prices (see the example in section
I1). Asaresult, families receiving subsidies may have limited choices of caregivers.

a Staff from the resource and referral agency report shortages in the supply of various types of
care in the 11 parishes they servein Louisiana. Staff believe that the most severe areas of
need are for infant care, school-age care, care during odd hours and care for children who
have special needsor areill. Specificaly:

School-age careis limited to some child care centers and some schools in many of the
parishesin Louisiana served by the Agenda for Children-Child Care Resources. To
participate in school-based care, children must attend a school that provides a school-age
child care program.

Careduring odd hoursisvery scarcein Louisiana. For example, only 4 of 447 centers
in Orleans and Jefferson parishes provide care during non-traditional hours.

Carefor sick children is not available from any of the centersin the Agency for
Children-Child Care Resources database, which covers 11 Louisiana parishes.

Sources

! Estimate based on microsimulations using the Urban Institute’'s TRIM3 model, guidelinesin the state’s

%997—99 CCDF state plan, and three years of Current Population Survey data (calendar years 1995-97).
Ibid.

3 Estimates based on state administrative data reported to the Child Care Bureau and adjusted to reflect

children funded through CCDF only. 1998 figures based on April-September 1998.

* Waiting list data were obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from the Louisiana Department of

Social Services, the state child care agency.

® Information in this section was obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from Agenda for Children-

Child Care Resources (AC-CCR) (achild care resource and referral agency in Louisiana). AC-CCR covers

11 of the 64 parishesin the state: Assumption, Jefferson, Orleans, Lafourche, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St.

Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Tammany, and Terrebone. These 11 parishes are concentrated primarily in

and around New Orleans.

® State maximum rates were obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from the L ouisiana Department

of Social Services, summer 1999.

" Information in this section was obtained and compiled by the Urban Institute from Agenda for Children-

Child Care Resources.
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