

ACSA

2003-2004 Board of Directors

President
Geraldine Forbes-Isais
Woodbury University

Vice President Rafael Longoria University of Houston

Past President Bradford C Grant, AIA Hampton University

Secretary Gabriella Gutierrez University of New Mexico

Treasurer
Christine Theodoropolous
University of Oregon

East Central Director Ronit Eisenbach, RA University of Maryland

> Northeast Director Judith Bing Drexel University

Southeast Director Linda Samuels University of North Carolina at Charlotte

> Southwest Director Gregory Herman University of Arkansas

West Director Gail Lee Dubrow, PhD University of Washington

West Central Director Wendy Ornelas, AIA Kansas State University

Canadian Director Graham Livesey, AAA, MRAIC University of Calgary

Student Director
Katherine Bojsza
American Institute of Architecture Students

Executive Director

NEWS RELEASE

For immediate release: June 10, 2004

ACSA contact: Chhayal Parikh, 202/785-2324 ext.2, cparikh@acsa-arch.org

WINNERS ANNOUNCED IN 2003-04 LABORATORIES FOR THE 21 ST CENTURY STUDENT DESIGN COMPETITION

WASHINGTON, DC: Designs from Virginia Tech, Université Laval, and McGill University were awarded prizes in the **2003-04 Laboratories for the 21St Century Student Design Competition**. The competition, sponsored by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), with support from Public Works and Government Services Canada, is administered by Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA).

The 2003-04 competition program challenged students to design a **Laboratory for the 21 St. Century** in the urban context of Georgetown University in Washington, DC. Students were encouraged to be creative in their use of sustainability and low-energy design. Open to students in the United States and Canada, the winners were chosen from among 200 submissions. First, second, third prizes and five honorable mentions were awarded.

This year the Labs21 Jury consisted of Douglas Kelbaugh, FAIA, dean of the University of Michigan School of Architecture; Sandra Mendler, AIA, an architect with HOK, and a nationally recognized leader in the field of sustainable design; and G. Craig Randock, AIA, design principal in the Phoenix office of SmithGroup, a national architecture, engineering, and planning firm with a 150-year legacy of providing design solutions for the natural and built environment.

A total of \$5,000 in cash prizes will be awarded to winning students and their faculty sponsors. Prize winning projects will be exhibited at the 2005 ACSA Annual Meeting in Chicago and the 2005 American Institute of Architects convention in Las Vegas. In addition, a representative from the first, second, and third prize winners will receive the opportunity to present their project at the 2004 Labs21 Conference in St. Louis, MO this October.

2003-04 Labs21 Student Winners:

First Prize: Bernhard Kutzer, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

Inform[ation]al_backbone

Faculty Sponsor: Susan Piedmont-Palladino

Second Prize: Etienne Boudreault-Sauvageau and Pascal Gobeil, Université Laval

Green over gray

Faculty Sponsor: Claude MH Demers and André Potvin

Third Prize: Matthew Lemieux Blarhard and Marie Bourdeau, McGill University

Science as [dissection]u[incison] Faculty Sponsor: David Covo

continues...

ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGIATE SCHOOLS OF ARCHITECTURE 1735 New York Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20006, USA Tel: 202/785-2324

Fax: 202/628-0448 Web site: www.acsa-arch.org



Honorable Mention':

Zenin Adrian and Jin-Yi Pao, University of Toronto

A Symbolic Relationship Between Laboratories and Classrooms

Faculty Sponsor: Barry Sampson

Dominic Grecki and Kevin Leslie, Lawrence Technological University

Untitled

Faculty Sponsor: Edward Orlowski

David Minke and Jason Nelson, University of Toronto

Untitled

Faculty Sponsor: Barry Sampson

Veronique Proteau and Marie-Helene Verdier, Université Laval

The Quest: Science shedding light on nature

Faculty Sponsor: Claude MH Demers and André Potvin

Rabindra Ramcharan, Syracuse University

BioLab 21

Faculty Sponsors: Bruce Abbey and Terrance Goode

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1912 to enhance the quality of architectural education. School membership in ACSA has grown from 10 charter schools to over 200 schools in several membership categories. Through these schools, over 4,500 architecture faculty are represented in ACSA's membership. ACSA, unique in its representative role for professional schools of architecture, provides a major forum for ideas on the leading edge of architectural theory and practice. Issues that will affect the architectural profession in the future are being examined today in ACSA member schools.