

### National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information National Adoption Information Clearinghouse







Gateways to Information: Protecting Children and Strengthening Families

## 2003 Adoption State Statute Series Statutes-at-a-Glance Infant Safe Haven Laws

#### What You Need to Know

In response to a seeming increase in the incidence of newborns and infants found in dumpsters and trash cans in recent years, State legislatures have felt the need to address this form of abandonment and infanticide.

Beginning in Texas in 1999, "Baby Moses laws" or infant safe haven legislation has been enacted as an incentive for mothers in crisis to safely relinquish their babies to a safe haven where the baby will be protected and provided with medical care until a permanent home can be found. Safe haven laws generally allow the parent, or an agent of the parent, to remain anonymous and to be shielded from prosecution for abandonment or neglect in exchange for safely surrendering the baby to a safe haven.

To date, 43 States have enacted safe haven legislation to provide a vehicle for the safe relinquishment of unwanted newborns.

#### Who May Leave a Baby at a Safe Haven

In most States with safe haven laws, a parent may surrender the baby to a safe haven. Two States, Minnesota and Tennessee, limit relinquishment to the infant's mother, while many others allow either parent of the baby or an agent of the parent (someone who has the parent's approval) to take the baby to a safe haven. Five States do not specify the person who may relinquish an infant.

#### Safe Haven Providers

Safe haven providers include hospitals, emergency medical services, police stations, and fire stations. Generally, anyone on staff at these institutions can receive an infant, and the provider is authorized to provide any care and treatment the infant may require.

In many States, the provider is required to ask the parent for family and medical history information. In some States, the provider is required to attempt to give the parent or parents information about the legal effects of leaving the infant and information about referral services. In all cases, the relinquishing parent may not be compelled either to provide personal information or to accept the information offered.

Infants as old as 72 hours may be relinquished to a safe haven in many States, although North Dakota's safe havens will accept a child as old as 1 year.

IN THE SERVICES LIST

Safe haven providers are given protection from liability for anything that might happen to the infant while in their care unless there is evidence of major negligence on the part of the safe haven.

The Clearinghouses are services of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human

# Protections for the Parents

Anonymity for the parent or agent of the parent may be expressly guaranteed in statute, or the statute may state that the safe haven cannot mandate that the parent or agent of the parent provide identifying information. Some States provide an assurance of confidentiality for any information that is provided.

In addition to the guarantee of anonymity, many States limit prosecution or provide that safe relinquishment of the infant is an affirmative defense<sup>1</sup> in any prosecution of the parent or his/her agent for any crime against the child, such as abandonment, neglect, or child endangerment.

The privileges of anonymity and immunity will be forfeited in most States if there is evidence of abuse or neglect of the child.

#### Custody of Relinquished Child

In most States with safe haven laws, custody of the infant who has been relinquished will be transferred to the department that handles child protective or child welfare cases.

The department has responsibility for placing the child, usually in a pre-adoptive home, and for petitioning the court for termination of the birth parent's parental rights. Several States have procedures in place for a parent to reclaim the infant, usually within a specified time period and before any petition to terminate parental rights has been granted.

The Statutes-at-a-Glance listings summarize specific sections of each State's code. While every attempt has been made to be as complete as possible, additional information on these topics may be in other sections of a State's code as well as in agency regulations, case law, and informal practices and procedures. Readers interested in interpretation of specific statutory provisions within an individual jurisdiction should consult with professionals within the State familiar with the statutes' implementation.

To obtain additional copies of this product or for more information, contact:

National Adoption Information Clearinghouse 330 C Street, SW Washington, DC 20447

Phone: (888) 251-0075 E-mail: naic@calib.com Web site: http://naic.acf.hhs.gov

We welcome your comments and suggestions about this product.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In a State with an affirmative defense provision, a parent or agent of the parent can be charged and prosecuted, but the act of leaving the baby safely at a safe haven can be a defense to an accusation of abandonment, abuse, neglect, or child endangerment.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
ALABAMA	§ 26-25-1 • 72 hours or younger.	§ 26-25-1 ■ Parent.	§ 26-25-1  • Emergency medical services provider in a licensed hospital.	§§ 26-25-1; 26-25-2  Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health.  Notify the Department of Human Resources.	§ 26-25-5 ■ Yes.	§ 26-25-3  • Affirmative defense to prosecution for nonsupport, abandonment, or endangering the welfare of a child.	§ 26-25-2  • The department assumes control and custody of the child.
ALASKA	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
AMERICAN SAMOA	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
ARIZONA	§ 13-3623.01  • 72 hours or younger.	§ 13-3623.01 • Parent.	§ 13-3623.01  Firefighters on duty. Emergency medical technician on duty. Staff member at a health care institution. Staff member at a private child welfare agency, adoption agency, or church that posts a public notice that it will accept abandoned infants.	§13-3623.01  Notify child protective services as soon as practicable.  Offer written information about organizations that provide information and referral.	§ 13-3623.01 • Yes.	§ 13-3623.01  Parent may remain anonymous and is not required to answer any questions.  A person is not guilty of abuse for leaving an infant with safe haven provider.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
ARKANSAS	§ 9-34-202  ■ 30 days or younger.	§ 9-34-202 Parent. A person designated by the parent.	§ 9-34-202  • Medical provider.  • Law enforcement agency.	§§ 9-34-202; 9-34-203  Perform any act necessary to protect the health of the child. Immediately notify the department.	§ 9-34-202 • Yes.	§ 5-27-203(c)  • Affirmative defense to prosecution for endangering the welfare of a minor.	§ 9-34-203  The department will initiate a dependency action [to place the child in a permanent home].

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
CALIFORNIA	Penal Code § 271.5  72 hours or younger.	Penal Code § 271.5  Parent. Other person having lawful custody.	Penal Code § 271.5  A safe-surrender site that includes:  Public or private hospital.  Any location designated by the County Board of Supervisors.	Health & Safety Code § 1255.7  Provide medical care. Provide parent with medical questionnaire. Place coded identification ankle bracelet on child and offer a matching bracelet to the parent. Notify child protective services.	Health & Safety Code § 1255.7 • Yes.	Penal Code § 271.5  No person leaving an infant with a safe haven provider may be prosecuted for abandonment, failure to provide, or desertion.	Health & Safety Code § 1255.7  Department will file dependency petition. Parent has 14 days to reclaim child.
COLORADO	§ 19-3-304.5 • 72 hours or younger.	§ 19-3-104.5  • Parent.	§ 19-3-304.5  • Firefighter.  • Hospital staff.	§ 19-3-304.5  Perform any act necessary to protect the health of the child.  Notify law enforcement and the county department.	§ 19-3-304.5 • Yes.	§ 18-6-401(9)  • Affirmative defense to prosecution for placing a child in a threatening situation.	§ 19-3-304.5  Department shall:  Place child in an adoptive home.  Proceed to terminate parent's rights as soon as lawfully possible.
CONNECTICUT	§ 17a-58  ■ 30 days or younger.	§ 17a-58 • Parent. • Lawful agent of the parent.	§ 17a-57  • Anyone on the nursing staff at a hospital emergency room.	§§ 17a-58; 17a-59  Take custody of child.  May request names of parent and medical information.  Notify department.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	§§ 17a-58; 53-23 Information about the parent is kept confidential. Leaving an infant with a safe haven provider is not a violation of the law of abandonment.	§ 17a-59  • Department assumes custody of child.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
DELAWARE	Title 16, § 902  14 days or younger.	Title 16, § 907A  Person who voluntarily delivers the infant unharmed.	Title 16, § 907A  • Emergency department of a hospital.	Title 16, § 907A  Take emergency protective custody. Attempt to obtain medical history. Notify the State police. Attempt to give child's ID number to parent.	Title 16, § 908 • Yes.	Title 16, § 907A; Title 11, § 1102A  Parent may remain anonymous. Any information gathered kept confidential. Defense from prosecution.	Title 16, § 907A  Relinquishment is final after 30 days; termination of parental rights to follow.
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
FLORIDA	§ 383.50  3 days old or younger.	§ 383.50 • Parent.	§ 383.50  Hospital. Emergency medical service station. Fire station.	§383.50  Provide needed medical care. Contact local child-placing agency. Make a report if abuse or neglect is suspected.	§ 383.50 ■ Yes.	§ 383.50  Parent has absolute right to remain anonymous. Immunity from prosecution if there is no abuse or neglect.	§ 383.50  Presumption that parent has consented to termination of parental rights.  May reclaim child any time prior to termination.
GEORGIA	§ 19-10A-4  No more than 1 week old.	§ 19-10A-4  • Mother.	§§ 19-10A-2; 4  Medical facility, meaning:  Hospital. Infirmary. Health center. Birth center. Does not include private offices of physicians or dentists.	§ 19-10A-6  Accept the child for inpatient admission. Notify the Department of Human Resources.	§ 19-10A-7 ■ Yes.	§ 19-10A-4  Mother shall not be prosecuted for cruelty to a child, contributing to the deprivation of a child, or abandonment.  Mother must provide proof of identity and name and address.	§ 19-10A-6  Department will take physical custody of the child within 6 hours.  Department shall bring the child before the juvenile court (to determine placement) as required by § 15-11-47.
GUAM	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
HAWAII	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.

Statutes-at-a-Glance: Infant Safe Haven Laws http://naic.acf.hhs.gov

		WHO MAY	WHO MAY	RESPONSIBILITIES	IMMUNITY	PROTECTION FOR	FEFECT ON
STATE	INFANT'S AGE	RELINQUISH THE INFANT	RECEIVE THE INFANT	OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	FOR THE PROVIDER	RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
IDAHO	§ 39-8103 [39-8203]  30 days or younger.	§ 39-8103 [39-8203] • Custodial parent.	§ 39-8103 [39-8203]  Hospital.  Physicians, staff.  Nurses, midwives, physician's assistant.  Emergency medical technicians.	§ 39-8102 [39-8202]  Perform any act necessary to protect health and safety of child.  Notify a peace officer.  Take temporary custody of the child.	§ 39-8103 [39-8203] • Yes.	§ 39-8103 [39-8203]  Parent not required to give identity.  Any information given kept confidential.  Immunity from prosecution for abandonment.	§§ 39-8104 [39-8204]; 39-8106 [39-8206]  Child will be placed in an adoptive home. Petition for termination of rights will be filed within 30 days. Prior to termination, parent may file claim of rights to child.
ILLINOIS	CH. 325, § 2/10 72 hours or younger.	CH. 325, § 2/15 ■ Parent.	CH. 325, § 2/20  Hospitals. Fire stations. Emergency medical facilities.	CH. 325, § 2/20 Provide emergency care. Make a report if abuse is suspected. Provide parent with information about adoption registry. Notify the department.	CH. 325, § 2/27 ■ Yes.	CH. 325, §§ 2/25; 2/30  If there is no evidence of abuse, may remain anonymous.  Neither a child protective nor criminal investigation may be initiated solely because the newborn has been relinquished.	CH. 325, §§ 2/50; 2/55  Termination of parental rights will commence no sooner than 60 days after relinquishment.  Parent may file claim to child prior to termination.  Failure of the parents to file a claim bars them from any future action.
INDIANA	§ 31-34-2.5-1  • 45 days or younger.	§ 31-34-2.5-1 • Parent.	§ 31-34-2.5-1  • Emergency medical services provider.	§ 31-34-2.5-2  Take custody of child. Provide any act necessary to protect health and safety of the child. Notify local child protection service.	Not addressed in the statutes reviewed.	§§ 31-34-2.5-1; 35-46-1-4  Not required to disclose their name.  It is a defense to a prosecution for abandonment if the infant is relinquished according to the law.	§ 31-34-2.5-2  The local child protection service shall assume care, control, and custody of the child.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
IOWA	§ 233.1  14 days old or younger.	§ 233.2  Parent. Person authorized by parent.	§ 233.2 • Institutional health facility.	§ 233.2  Take custody of child. Perform any act necessary to protect health and safety of the child. Notify the department. May ask for parent's name or medical information.	§ 233.2 • Yes.	§§ 233.3; 233.5  Parents not required to give name or medical information.  Identifying information shall be kept confidential.  Immunity from criminal prosecution or civil liability.	§§ 233.2; 233.4  Petition to terminate parental rights to be heard within 30 days.  Parent may request custody of child before termination.
KANSAS	§ 38-15,100  • 45 days old or younger.	§ 38-15,100  Parent. Person having legal custody of the child.	§ 38-15,100  Fire station. City or county health department. Medical care facility.	§ 38-15,100  Take custody of child. Perform any act necessary to protect health and safety of the child. Notify local law enforcement.	§ 38-15,100 • Yes.	§ 21-3604  Person leaving a baby with a safe haven shall not be prosecuted for abandonment if the baby has suffered no harm.	§ 38-1529  Petition will be filed for termination of parental rights. An expedited hearing will be held on the petition.
KENTUCKY	§§ 216B.190; 405.075 • 72 hours old or younger.	§§ 216B.190; 405.075 • Parent. • Any person.	§§ 216B.190; 405.075  • Emergency medical services provider.  • Police officer.  • Firefighter.	§ 216B.190  Provide medical care. Attempt to gather health and medical information. Notify the department.	§ 216B.190 • Yes.	§§ 216B.190; 620.350  Identity confidential. Right to remain anonymous. No investigation for abandonment.	§ 620.350  Child placed in foster care. After 30 days, a petition for termination of parental rights is filed.
LOUISIANA	The infant safe haven law was repealed as of 6/27/03.	No longer addressed in statute.	No longer addressed in statute.	No longer addressed in statute.	No longer addressed in statute.	No longer addressed in statute.	No longer addressed in statute.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
MAINE	Title 17-A, § 553(3)  Less than 31 days old.	Title 22, § 4018 ■ Person.	Title 22, § 4018  Law enforcement officer. Staff at a medical emergency room. Medical services provider. Hospital staff member.	Title 22, § 4018  May request information helpful to the welfare of the child.  Notify the department.	Title 22, § 4018 • Yes.	Title 17-A, § 553(3) Title 22, § 4018  Affirmative defense to prosecution for abandonment. All personal information about the parent kept confidential.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
MARYLAND	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641 • Within 3 days of birth.	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641  • Mother.  • Person who has the approval of the mother.	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641  Responsible adult. Hospital or other facility designated by regulation.	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641  A person who receives an infant shall take it to a hospital. The hospital shall notify the local department within 24 hours.	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641 • Yes.	Cts & Jud Pro § 5-641  Immunity from civil liability or criminal prosecution.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
MASSACHUSETTS	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
MICHIGAN	§ 712.1 • 72 hours old or younger.	§ 712.3 • Parent.	§ 712.1 • Emergency service provider.	§ 712.3  Provide the child with any necessary care. Attempt to provide information to parent. Encourage parent to provide family and medical information. Notify a child placing agency of the child.	§ 712.2 • Yes.	§ 712.20  • Affirmative defense to prosecution for injury or abandonment.	§ 712.3  Parent has 28 days to petition court to regain custody.  After 28 days, there will be a hearing to terminate parental rights.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
MINNESOTA	§§ 145.902; 609.3785  72 hours old or younger. Child must be unharmed.	§ 609.3785  • Mother.  • Person with mother's approval.	§§ 145.902; 609.3785  Employee at a licensed hospital.	§ 145.902  May ask about medical history of mother or child.  May provide contact information for social services department.  Must inform local welfare agency within 24 hours.	§ 145.902 • Yes.	§§ 145.902; 609.3785  Not required to provide any information.  No prosecution for leaving an infant.	§ 260C.217  Local social service agency shall take custody of the child. The agency is not required to attempt to reunify the child with parents.
MISSISSIPPI	§ 43-15-201  72 hours old or younger.	§ 43-15-201 • Parent.	§ 43-15-201  • Emergency medical services provider.	§§ 43-15-201; 43-21-203  Perform any act necessary to protect the child. Notify the department.	§ 43-15-209 • Yes.	§ 43-15-205  • Affirmative defense to prosecution for abandonment, neglect, or exposure of child.	§ 43-15-203  Department of Human Services shall assume control and custody of the child.
MISSOURI	§ 210.950  No more than 30 days old.	§ 210.950  Biological parent. Person acting on the parent's behalf.	§ 210.950  Staff of any hospital. Firefighter or emergency medical technician. Law enforcement officer.	§ 210.950  Take physical custody and transport child to nearest hospital. Provide medical treatment as needed. Notify the division of family services.	§ 210.950 • Yes.	§ 210.950  For the crimes of child abandonment and endangering the welfare of a child:  A parent shall not be prosecuted if the child is 5 days old or younger.  It shall be an affirmative defense if the child is 6 days old, but less than 30 days old.	§ 210.950  The child shall be made a ward of the court. The parent's delivery of the child shall constitute an implied voluntary relinquishment of parental rights.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
MONTANA	§ 40-6-402  No more than 30 days old.	§ 40-6-405 • Parent. • An individual.	§ 40-6-402  • Emergency services provider.  • Law enforcement officer.	§ 40-6-405  Perform any act necessary to protect the child. Attempt to provide information to the parent. Encourage the parent to provide family and medical information. Ascertain whether child has a Tribal affiliation. Notify the department.	§§ 40-6-403; 40-6-404  Yes, for hospital employees. Yes, for law enforcement and fire fighters.	§§ 40-6-405; 40-6-417  Information provided will not be made public. A criminal prosecution for abandonment may not be initiated.	§ 40-6-405  By act of relinquishment, parent releases the child for adoption. Parent has 60 days to petition court to regain custody.
NEBRASKA	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
NEVADA	§ 432B.630  ■ 30 days old or less.	§ 432B.630 • Parent.	§ 432B.630  Hospital. Obstetric center. Emergency medical care center. Firefighting center. Law enforcement agency.	§ 432B.630  Perform any act necessary to maintain health of the child.  Notify child welfare agency.	§ 432B.160 • Yes.	§§ 432B.630; 200.508; 201.110  Not required to provide identifying information.  Not a violation of the laws of abandonment or neglect simply for delivering the child to a safe haven.	§ 432B.630  • Parent is presumed to have intended to consent to termination of parental rights to the child.
NEW HAMPSHIRE	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
NEW JERSEY	§ 30:4C-15.7  ■ 30 days old or less.	§ 30:4C-15.7 • Parent.	§ 30:4C-15.7  Police station. Emergency department of a licensed hospital.	<ul> <li>§ 30:4C-15.7</li> <li>Take any action or provide treatment to protect child's health.</li> <li>Notify the Division of Youth and Family Services.</li> </ul>	§ 30:4C-15.7 • Yes.	§ 30:4C-15.7  Not required to provide identifying information.  Affirmative defense to prosecution for abandonment.	§ 30:4C-15.8  Division is not required to attempt to reunify child with parents. Division will place child in adoptive home as soon as possible.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
NEW MEXICO	§ 24-22-3  • 90 days old or less.	§ 24-22-3 ■ Person.	§ 24-22-3  • Staff of a licensed hospital or health care clinic.	§§ 24-22-3; 24-22-4  Provide medical care. Provide information about adoption services. Notify the department.	§ 24-22-8 • Yes.	§ 24-22-3  Not required to provide identifying information.  No prosecution for abandonment or abuse.	§§ 24-22-5; 24-22-7  Department has custody of child.  If determined to be an Indian child, placement preferences apply.  Parent has 30 days to seek reunification.
NEW YORK	Penal Code §§ 260.03; 260.15 • Not more than 5 days old.	Penal Code §§ 260.03; 260.15 ■ Person.	Penal Code §§ 260.03; 260.15 • Appropriate person.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Penal Code §§ 260.03; 260.15  Affirmative defense for prosecution for abandonment or endangering the welfare of a child.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
NORTH CAROLINA	§§ 7B-500; 14-322.3  7 days old or less.	§ 14-233.3 • Parent.	§ 7B-500  Health care provider. Law enforcement officer. Social services worker. Emergency medical service worker. Any adult.	<ul> <li>§ 7B-500</li> <li>Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health.</li> <li>Ask parent for identification and medical history.</li> <li>Notify the department.</li> </ul>	§ 7B-500 ■ Yes.	§ 114-322.3  • A parent shall not be prosecuted for abandonment or failure to support.	§ 7B-500  Safe haven takes temporary custody of the child.
NORTH DAKOTA	§ 27-20-02  • Less than 1 year old.	§ 50-25.1-15 Parent. Agent of the parent.	§ 50-25.1-15 • Licensed hospital.	§ 50-25.1-15  Request information regarding parents. Provide parent with information. Provide parent with numbered identity bracelet for infant. Notify the department.	§ 50-25.1-15 • Yes.	§ 50-25.1-15  Neither the parent or the parent's agent may be prosecuted for abuse, neglect, or abandonment.	§ 50-25.1-15  If parental rights have not been terminated, possession of bracelet allows parent to participate in court actions.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
ОНЮ	§ 2151.3516  • Less than 72 hours old.	§ 2151.3516 • Parent.	§ 2151.3516  • Emergency medical service worker.  • Hospital employee.  • Peace officer.	§ 2151.3517  Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health. Attempt to provide medical forms to the parent. Notify the Children's Services Agency.	§ 2151.3523 • Yes.	§§ 2151.3523; 2151.3424  Parent has the right to remain anonymous. Parent shall not be subject to prosecution for the act of relinquishment.	§§ 2151.3522; 2151.3528  Child regarded as a neglected child. Parent seeking reunification must undergo DNA testing.
OKLAHOMA	Tit. 10, § 7115.1 ■ 7 days or younger.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1 • Parent.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1  Medical services provider.  Child rescuer:  Police station.  Fire station.  CPS agency.  Hospital or other medical facility.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1  Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health.  Request information about the child.  Provide information about parents' rights.  Notify the department.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1 • Yes.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1  May remain anonymous.  No prosecution for abandonment or neglect.	Tit. 10, § 7115.1  Department will provide information about reunification and counseling.
OREGON	§ 418.017  ■ 30 days or younger.	§ 418.017 • Parent.	§ 418.017  Hospital. Birthing center. Physician's office. Sheriff's office. Police station. Fire station.	§ 418.017  Receive the child. Notify State Office for Services to Children. Provide State Office with any available information about the child.	§ 418.017 • Yes.	§§ 418.017; 163.535(2)  Not required to provide identifying information.  Affirmative defense to prosecution for abandonment.	§ 418.017  Child is deemed abandoned. Department has protective custody of the child.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
PENNSYLVANIA	23 PCSA § 6502  Less than 28 days.	23 PCSA § 6503 • Parent.	23 PCSA § 6504  Hospital. Health care provider.	23 PCSA § 6504  Take child into protective custody. Perform a medical evaluation. Notify the county agency and law enforcement.	23 PCSA § 6507 • Yes.	23 PCSA § 6503  Parent not criminally liable under any provision of title 18 (relating to crimes and offenses) if the criteria of 18 PCSA § 4306 are met.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
PUERTO RICO	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
RHODE ISLAND	§ 23-13.1-3  ■ 30 days or younger.	§ 23-13.1-4  Parent. Person acting at the direction of the parent.	§ 23-13.1-3  Hospital. Medical emergency facility. Fire station. Police station.	§ 23-13.1-3  Provide needed medical care to the child.  Offer information about legal effect of relinquishment.  Notify the department.	§ 23-13.1-3 • Yes.	§§ 23-13.1-3; 23-13.1-4  • Any information provided is kept confidential. • Immune from prosecution for abandonment.	§ 23-13.1-5  Department shall have custody of child. Petition for termination of parental rights in 90 days unless parent has asserted a claim.
SOUTH CAROLINA	§ 20-7-85  30 days or less.	§ 20-7-85  Parent. Person directed by parent.	§ 20-7-85  Hospital. Hospital outpatient facility.	<ul> <li>§ 20-7-85</li> <li>Provide needed medical care to the child.</li> <li>Offer information about legal effect of relinquishment.</li> <li>Notify the department.</li> </ul>	§ 20-7-85 • Yes.	§ 20-7-85  Identifying information must be kept confidential.  Immune from criminal offense.	§ 20-7-85  Department has legal custody. Within 48 hours, department will file a petition to: Dispense with reasonable efforts. Terminate parental rights.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
SOUTH DAKOTA	§ 25-5A-27 • Less than 60 days old.	§ 25-5A-27 • Parent.	§§ 25-5A-27; 25-5A-34  Health care facility or clinic. Law enforcement officer. Emergency medical technician. Fire fighter. Child placement agency.	§§ 25-5A-27; 25-5A-30; 25-5A-32  Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health.  May ask parent for medical information.  Notify department.	§ 25-5A-31 • Yes.	§ 25-5A-28  Relinquishment is not a crime if the child is unharmed.	§§ 25-5A-29; 25-5A-33; 25-5A-35  After 14 days, child becomes ward of the State.  Other parent has 30 days to file for custody.  After 60 days, a hearing is held to terminate parental rights.
TENNESSEE	§ 68-11-255  • Less than 72 hours old.	§ 68-11-255  • Mother.	§ 68-11-255  Hospital. Birthing center. Community health clinic. Outpatient walk-in clinic.	§ 68-11-255  Perform any act necessary to protect child's health.  May ask parent for identity and health information.  May provide information about law and social services.  Notify the department.	§ 68-11-255 • Yes.	§ 68-11-255  Any information received kept confidential. Immunity for criminal prosecution.	§ 36-1-142  Department takes custody of child.  Notice will be published in a newspaper to give putative father an opportunity to claim the child.  Failure of mother to seek contact for 90 days shall be grounds for termination of parental rights.
TEXAS	Fam. Code § 262.302 ■ 60 days old or younger.	Fam. Code § 262.302 ■ Parent.	Fam. Code § 262.301  Emergency medical services provider.  Hospital.  Child placing agency.	Fam. Code §§ 262.302; 262.303  Perform any act necessary to protect child's health.  Notify the department.	Fam. Code § 262.302 • Yes.	Penal Code § 22.041(h)  Affirmative defense to prosecution for abandonment.	Fam. Code § 262.303 • Department takes custody of child.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
UTAH	§ 62A-4a-801  72 hours old or younger.	§ 62A-4a-802 Parent. Parent's designee.	§ 62A-42a-802  • Hospital.	§ 62A-4a-802  Provide any necessary medical care.  May request identifying and medical information.  Notify the division.	§ 62A-4a-802 ■ Yes.	§ 62A-4a-802  • Affirmative defense to any criminal liability for abandonment or neglect.	§ 62A-4a-802  Child is placed in an adoptive home.  Within 10 days, a petition to terminate parental rights is filed.  Father has 2 weeks to come forward.
VERMONT	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
VIRGIN ISLANDS	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.
VIRGINIA	§§ 18.2-371.1; 40.1-103 • Within first 14 days.	§§ 18.2-371.1 40.1-103 • Parent.	§§ 18.2-371.1; 40.1-103  Hospital that provides 24-hour emergency services. Rescue squad that employs emergency medical technicians.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	§ 8.01-226.5:2  • Yes.	§§ 18.2-371.1; 40.1-103  Affirmative defense to prosecution for abuse or neglect of children, cruelty to children or endangering a child.	§ 63.2-910.1  A local department shall have authority to:  Take custody of the child.  Arrange an appropriate placement.  Institute proceedings to terminate parental rights.
WASHINGTON	§ 13.34.360  • Less than 72 hours old.	§ 13.34.360 • Parent.	§ 13.34.360  Qualified person at:  Emergency department of a hospital.  Fire station.	§ 13.34.360  Provide parent with referral information and opportunity to give medical information.  Notify child protective services.	§ 13.34.360 • Yes.	§ 13.34.360  • Anonymity protected.  • Not subject to criminal liability for abandonment.	§ 13.34.360  • Child protective services will assume custody of the child.

STATE	INFANT'S AGE	WHO MAY RELINQUISH THE INFANT	WHO MAY RECEIVE THE INFANT	RESPONSIBILITIES OF SAFE HAVEN PROVIDER	IMMUNITY FOR THE PROVIDER	PROTECTION FOR RELINQUISHING PARENT	EFFECT ON PARENTAL RIGHTS
WEST VIRGINIA	§ 49-6E-1  Less than 30 days old.	§ 49-6E-1 • Parent.	§ 49-6E-1  Hospital. Health care facility.	§§ 49-6E-1; 49-6E-2  Perform any act necessary to protect the child's health.  Notify child protective services.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	§§ 49-6E-1; 49-6E-4  Right to remain anonymous.  Affirmative defense to prosecution.	§ 49-6E-2  Department shall assume custody of the child.
WISCONSIN	§ 48.195 • 72 hours or old or younger.	§ 48.195 • Parent.	§ 48.195  Law enforcement officer. Emergency medical technician. Hospital staff member. Sheriff's office. Police station. Fire station.	§ 48.195  Take any action necessary to protect child's health.  Deliver child to intake worker within 24 hours.	§ 48.195 • Yes.	§48.195  Right to remain anonymous. Immunity from civil and criminal liability.	§ 48.415  Court may grant involuntary termination of parental rights on grounds that custody has been relinquished.
WYOMING	§ 14-11-102  • 14 days old or younger.	§ 14-11-103  • Parent. • Parent's designee.	§ 14-11-102  A fire station. A hospital. A police department or sheriff's office. Any other place of shelter identified by the department.	§ 14-11-103  May not require the parent to provide medical or identifying information.  May provide any necessary medical care.  Shall notify the local child protective services agency no later than 24 hours after receiving the child.	Not addressed in statutes reviewed.	§§ 14-11-103; 14-11-106  Parent may remain anonymous. Relinquishment does in and of itself constitute child abuse. Affirmative defense to any potential criminal liability for abandonment or neglect.	§§ 14-11-103; 14-11-105  Local child protective agency shall assume care and custody of the child. Department shall place the child in a potential adoptive home. If neither parent seeks the return of the child within 3 months, the department shall file a petition for termination of parental rights.